Sleep Apnea and the CPAP

I’m up again, way before anyone should be up. I don’t know why I keep waking up so early. I know my IC makes me get up to go pee, but I think the irritation of the CPAP (continuous positive airway pressure) face mask might have something to do with my inability to go back to sleep. combinedcpapimages

As you can see from the images I’ve posted, the mask is so very attractive, not to mention comfortable. (sarcasm) Then there is the constant noise of the machine, luckily, it is minor and I’ve become accustom to it, except when my covers or the hose gets in the way of the outflow, then it makes a lot of noise.

And let’s not forget that hose, it is 6 feet long, but you would not now know it as much as I am tethered by it. I nearly jerked the whole machine off the other night rolling over. Which is also a chore, sleeping on your side, if you do not have a pillow designed for the CPAP mask, you are constantly adjusting your own pillow so you don’t have noisy leaks, or leaks that blow in your eyes drying them out. The CPAP pillow is not covered by insurance and cost around $60, with no guarantee that it will work for you.

The apparatus is a pain to sleep with until you get used to it. I’ve had mine for 10 years and I still go through times that it irritates me. BUT, it keeps me breathing at night. Without it, I would stop breathing 35 times in 3 hours for 20-30 seconds each. (So my sleep study showed.) And they make smaller masks, ones that only cover your nose, but I’m a mouth breather and have to have the full face mask for it to do me any good.

I have the items shown here, the machine has a water chamber for humidity and I love that part of it. I would get an even worse dry mouth without it.

So as a necessary part of medical equipment, and especially for those that need oxygen at night, these machines are very helpful. They eased my migraines substantially. If I sleep without my CPAP, I get a headache and sore throat, even if it is just a short nap.

I found these pictures at cpap.com and put them here, but I am not affiliated with them. I just wanted to show you some of the necessary items used for sleep apnea.

Have a great day. ~Peace

 

Leave a Thought

