Filter – Daily Prompt

An IC (interstitial cystitis) patient knows they need to drink water that has gone through a filter to remove all impurities. Otherwise those impurities could cause them to have a bladder flare. The pain of a bladder flare has been compared to stage 4 cancer. I’ve never had cancer, so I compare my flares to being stung by bees over and over.

I drink reverse osmosis water only. Water that goes through a filter is still not pure enough for my picky bladder. I never drink mineral water or tap water, it is just not worth the pain it might cause. But some IC patients find that filtered water is okay for them.

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/filter

7 comments

  1. bethanyk

    IC is a freaking nightmare. I was treated with catheter and then a medication filled my bladder and after weeks of this treatment it finally calmed it down. But one glass of orange juice and I’m done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tina - Invisible Illnesses Blog

      You are right. One glass of OJ and you’re done. I was never treated the way you were, I was in the hospital and put under for a cystoscopy and hydrodistention, one or 2 times a year. I have 2 interstims that help with pain and control. I am grateful for them, they have made my life much easier.

      Like

      • bethanyk

        Oh I just remembered the name. Elmeron. Normally people take it by mouth but this doctor crushed it, mixed it with lidocaine, and I held it in my bladder as long as I could. It cut my infections down immensely too. I’m glad you found something that helped you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • bethanyk

        He didn’t want to give it by mouth since one side affect was hair loss and i was already having that, so crushing it and putting it directly into the bladder really was brilliant he has an entire clinic here in Florida now just for that. If i get a flare up I just go back in and get a treatment and it seems to last a while. I have wondered what caused the IC to begin with though.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Thought

