Replacement – Daily Prompt

Wouldn’t it be nice if we had replacement parts for our brain. I would replace depression with happiness. Stress with peacefulness. Anxiety with calmness.

But we do not have replacement parts for our brains, we do have cognitive control of our brains though, we can train it to behave. To de-stress, to push anxiety aside, but I have yet to be able to rid myself of depression without medication. I suppose medication is my replacement for depression. It has helped a great deal and I do not see myself going off of my medication any time soon. I’m sure it is helping with stress and anxiety too. I don’t really think I could do a complete replacement of stress and anxiety without medication.

Cognitive behavior takes training and for me it took a lot of therapy to learn how to do the simplest of behavior modifications. I’m sure it comes easier for some people.


Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is a short-term, goal-oriented psychotherapy treatment that takes a hands-on, practical approach to problem-solving. Its goal is to change patterns of thinking or behavior that are behind people’s difficulties, and so change the way they feel. https://psychcentral.com/lib/in-depth-cognitive-behavioral-therapy/


 

One comment

  1. Pingback: Casa Batlló – Ladyleemanila