Overwhelming – Daily Prompt

Having a chronic illness is overwhelming. No matter who you are, you are going to get overwhelmed at some point. Whether it is when the doctor first gives you the diagnosis or when you are curled up in bed hurting all over, or a multitude of other variables caused by your illness. It will be overwhelming.

Trying to find a diagnosis, trying to get the right medication without being allergic, trying to cope with a prognosis of “no known cure”, trying to get friends and family to understand your illness(es) are all overwhelming.

If we can stand back and look at our situation and realize that things are not going to change, and we must go forth with what you have been given, things become less overwhelming.

I always try to find a positive in everything. It is not easy when I’m curled up in pain, or drugged up on pain medications, so I have to look beyond myself to find that positive. I have a loving, caring, understanding husband that does not expect anything of me. I have a roof over my head and food in the kitchen. I have the pain medication to give me a small amount of relief. I am blessed. Things are much easier when I find a positive.

