Sound – Daily Prompt

The sound resonates through my head constantly, the ringing never stops. I’ve trained my brain not to hear it. But when I think about it, it gains volume.

Tinnitus(TIN-ih-tus) is the perception of noise or ringing in the ears. A common problem, tinnitus affects about 1 in 5 people. Tinnitus isn’t a condition itself — it’s a symptom of an underlying condition, such as age-related hearing loss, ear injury or a circulatory system disorder.
www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/tinnitus/home/ovc-20180349

I am not a doctor, nor do I give medical advice, but I theorize about my own health issues at times, and I believe my tinnitus is caused from high blood glucose. I have been unable to get it lowered, reason number one I believe I have Cushing’s Syndrome.

I will be seeing a new endocrinologist soon and will go over all of my symptoms with him in hopes he does testing for Cushing’s. If he does not choose to do testing, I will go to an endocrinologist in the Houston area. I am tired of the small town doctor thinking he is the only sounding board available to me. I know my body and I never stop researching.

Some doctors don’t really like it when you are educated and can challenge them. We will see how this new endocrinologist receives my theories and tries to help control my high blood glucose.

~Peace

Cushing’s Disease/ Cushing’s Syndrome: Cushing’s is a hormonal disorder caused by prolonged exposure of the body’s tissues to high levels of the hormone cortisol. Your adrenal glands, which are right above your kidneys, release cortisol when they receive a chemical message from your pituitary gland. The message comes in the form of adrenocorticotrophic hormone (ACTH), which travels through the bloodstream.

14 comments

  1. Ginny @ Mytimestitching .com

    I know exactly what you mean about the ringing getting louder. I have had tinnitus for years. Probably because I have a perforated ear drum. The last several years the ringing has become louder and louder. When I am home alone, I tend to not turn on the tv while I am doing things, so I am quite aware of it. I like turning my music on to drown it out. Watching tv is sometimes hard unless I turn it up. I will have to bring it up at my next doctor’s appointment. Thinking about trying the over the counter medication to see if it helps. Good luck with your new doctor. I hope that he can help you. If not, then move onto the next one. You are right to be in control of you and in doing your research.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thechickengrandma

    Definitely keep researching! You are your own best advocate. My husband always says if a doctor does not like to be questioned then he is not the right doctor for you. I have been finding that when I use my Essential oils they help support my respiratory system so I don’t need the over the counter stuff anymore. I wonder if there is something to support the adrenal system?
    Keep searching!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Thought

