Hideout – Daily Prompt

I prefer to hideout at home instead of run the roads. I know women that love to shop, I’m not one of them, I don’t like to go out of the house everyday. I’m an introvert. I always enjoy being out of the house once I am out, but until then, I’m content being in. After researching, I think I have always been an introvert.

There are nine behavioral signs of introversion.

  1. You enjoy having time to yourself.
    When you have the chance to take a break, you’d rather spend time reading, writing, or just listening to music.
  2. Your best thinking occurs when you’re by yourself.
    Having the opportunity to reflect quietly on a problem allows you to make the maximum use of your ability to engage in original thought, and to produce results about which you can feel proud.
  3. You lead best when others are self-starters.
    Despite the belief that introverts are so quiet that they can’t step up to the plate and run things, under the right circumstances they can be the best leaders of all.
  4. You’re the last to raise your hand when someone asks for something from a group.
    Extraverts tend to be ready and eager to stand out in any academic or social situation. You are probably more of an introvert than an extravert if you are content to sit back and let others take center stage.
  5. Other people ask you your opinion.
    You let the noisy extraverts take control. Because of this, and because your advice may indeed be highly valued, it’s likely that if you’re constantly being asked “What do you think?” it might suggest that your behavior sends cues to others of your inner desire to focus your attention and thoughts inward.
  6. You often wear headphones when you’re in a public situation.
    You most likely don’t seek a great deal of contact with others. In public places you keep your head down and look straight in front of you.
  7. You prefer not to engage with people who seem angry or upset.
    According to research by University College London psychologist Marta Ponari and collaborators, people high in introversion fail to show what’s called the “gaze-cuing effect.” Normally, if you were to see the image of a person’s face on a computer screen looking in a certain direction, you would follow that person’s gaze and therefore respond more quickly to a visual target on that side of the screen than when the person’s gaze and the target are pointed in opposite directions. Introverts show this effect just as extraverts do, but if the person’s face seems angry, they don’t show the gaze-cuing effect. This suggests that people high in introversion don’t want to look at someone who seems mad.
  8. You receive more calls, texts, and emails than you make, unless you have no choice.
    All other things being equal, people high in introversion don’t reach out voluntarily to their social circles. If they have a few minutes to spare, they won’t initiate a call just to pass the time by socializing.
  9. You don’t initiate small talk with salespeople or others with whom you have casual contact.
    People don’t really know how you’re feeling or thinking at any given moment, unless you feel close enough to them to share these private reflections.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/fulfillment-any-age/201403/nine-signs-you-re-really-introvert
Copyright Susan Krauss Whitbourne, Ph.D. 2014 

 

11 comments

  1. D

    Excellent post! I am a semi introvert, an enigma if you will. I don’t enjoy shopping and when I do shop much prefer to go by myself. My physical activity is all solitary with the exception of my dog at times. I hike and snowshoe alone but carry a 2 way satellite communicator in case I run into trouble as I do mostly backcountry. I have “acquaintances” that I’ll make small talk with in church etc but no real friends. Surprisingly, that doesn’t bother me at all because I don’t want to be obligated to engage in small talk or outings. On the opposite end of the spectrum, I am very outspoken on matters of importance to me. Also, if my phone messages to a company or medical provider are ignored (I’m talking several calls in as many weeks) they find out first hand that one doesn’t mess with a Jersey Girl.😜😜Then it’s back to reading, knitting or sporting by myself. Complex but it works.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Thought

