Territory – Daily Prompt

I’m going into familiar territory today, as I did the day before yesterday. Hospital outpatient registration areas. We got my husband registered day before yesterday for his gallbladder surgery on the 5th. But I’ve been having a lot of bladder pain, an IC flare-up, probably due to stress from worrying about my husband’s health. So yesterday it was about my health. I had to go see the urologist to get some relief from my bladder flare and he did not hesitate to sign me up for a cystoscopy with hydrodistention for Monday the 3rd.

Hopefully my procedure will relieve my pain enough so I can sit calmly at the hospital on the 5th to get my husband taken care of because my son has to work that particular day. Joy. Did you catch that bit of sarcasm? It will be me and my husband against the world! We will be fine. I am certain of it, we always are when we look after each other.

If you do not know what a cystoscopy with hydrodistention is, let me explain:

A cystoscopy (sis-TOS-kuh-pee) is a procedure where a cystoscope (tiny camera) is advanced into your bladder via the urethra to look at the lining of the bladder and take pictures.

Hydrodistention literally means to distend the bladder with water.

After this procedure, I will be uncomfortable for a day or two, but should bounce back to normal rather quickly. That is how I get relief from a bladder flare. It is not always used as a “go to” for all IC patients, but for me, it works.

~Peace

2 comments

Leave a Thought

