An IC Bladder Image

Today I had a cystoscopy (a camera in my bladder) with hydrodistention (my bladder filled to capacity with medication) to help reset my bladder from being in a constricted state. The procedures always go together and are an actual surgery. I’ve had many of these done and they help with pain, frequency and urgency once the bladder settles down from the procedure.

I am in quite a bit of pain at this point in the day, the medications have worn off from the hospital and I’m back on my normal pain pills that are mild in comparison.

I write because I want people to see what an unhealthy bladder looks like. My doctor provided me with pictures of the inside of my bladder. All I can say is, no wonder I’m in pain!

Today was a bit trying, I was already nervous about being put under again so soon but almost instantly when they nurse started the antibiotic IV, my arm started turning red with an allergic reaction. It continued from the IV site to about 6 inches up my arm and around my arm, they stopped the antibiotic, gave me Benadryl and put ice on my arm until the redness subsided. Then they started it again and did the procedure.

When I woke up my arm was again wrapped in ice and whelped up worse than before. The nurse told me she could not believe they kept giving me the medication and she threw it in the trash and told me to write it on my allergy list. I had to stay in the hospital long enough for my arm to clear up, then I was allowed to leave, but there are still whelps on my arm, just not redness.

So when you look at this picture, notice the lighter spots, those are the color of a healthy bladder. A healthy bladder does not have any blood lines showing or blotches.

With no known cause or cure, it is very frustrating and painful to deal with this disease.

1bladder 5.22.17

14 comments

  1. 3sistersabroad

    Oh Tina you must be in so much pain xx huge hugs I cannot understand why they would keep trying to put this stuff in when its so plain for them to see that its an allergic reaction. I will say that for me many times they would put the dye in for the ct scan…and my arm would blow up and i would need ice etc…finally someone said…”oh its an allergic reaction so we won’t do that” makes me angry….again huge hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Thought

