Baby – Daily Prompt

At age 25, I had a partial hysterectomy. They left my ovaries only. I was having so much problems with my belly swelling and hurting and now we know it was IC all along. But they put me on antidepressants after the surgery to curb any depression I might have about not being able to have another baby. What they didn’t believe was that I was perfectly content with my son and did not want any more babies.

It had physically hurt to have him and I nearly died not to mention they only gave him 6 months to live and he was 7 years old at the time of my hysterectomy so I was content. I didn’t stay on the antidepressants long, I didn’t like the way they made me feel. I felt like people were walking on me because I was too happy all the time and did not stand up for myself.

I look back and wish I had stayed on them, but at the time, I was so happy to not have my monthly any longer that I thought I could make it without them. I was part of the problem and living in the belief that antidepressants made me weak. I was avoiding the stigma.

Today, I care nothing about the stigma, without my antidepressants I would be dead. I would not have lived through the things I have been through and died by my own hand. Stigma or not, I’m happy to take my pills daily.

My baby boy is 36 now and healthy. A paramedic/firefighter and I’m so very proud of him. No one would believe, by looking at him now, that he was only given 6 months to live after birth. He is so strong and has a beautiful family but he is still my baby!

~Peace

Author: Tina

This site is about invisible illnesses and the hidden suffering that they wreak on those who are burdened by them. I suffer greatly, but find writing and sharing ideas important. I use aromatherapy to relax and I enjoy crocheting, beading, painting and research. Being a country gal makes it tough to follow a diabetic diet during the winter months. During the summer, vegetables are plentiful, but during the winter they are scarce. I need advice and help on meal planning. I have a second blog, www.tinabrownsartblog.wordpress.com where I display my paintings. Not very good, but I sure enjoy painting them.

25 thoughts on “Baby – Daily Prompt”

  1. Great post, I too had a hysterectomy due to another illness, and never was able to have children. Sad for many years, but no choice and our marriage is strong (38 yrs), so you learn to adjust.

    Never be ashamed of your meds, as long as you are getting better who cares what others think. Stigma.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Thought

Sacred Journey Devotionals - Where Christianity and Metaphysics Meet

"Sacred Journey Devotionals are words filled with love, truth, patience, peace and internal exploration. Don't be afraid to follow your heart, for it is there that you will find the truth you have been searching for all this time. God loves you and wants the very best for you. More than anything, God wants to have an active and intimate relationship with you." ~ Rev. Marcia F. Davis

Reflect His Word

Transform your life

To Live is Christ

Learning to live by the indwelling life of Christ.

Coffee With The Lord

The Best Way To Start the Day- Coffee With The Lord

The Heart of a Pastor

"My heart overflows with a pleasing theme; I address my verses to the king; my tongue is like the pen of a ready scribe." (Psalm 45:1)

Getting Well God's Way

New Insights for a New Age

Patty Radish

Sharing My Creative Life

Trying to Craft

my diary of handmade crafts and other stuff.

Art-full Journey

Art Journaling, Painting, Enameling, and More

Let's Art Journal

Expressing life through endless creativity in words and pictures

My So Called Crafty Life

The life and times of a craft addict

Invisible Illnesses

Awareness, Education, Research & Quips

Thoughts in Print

words and abstractions of little consequence