Apprentice – Daily Prompt

Couldn’t we all use an apprentice? Someone to take over our chores where we leave off, or learn from our verbal instructions. Not just a house keeper that comes in and cleans once a week, because they do the same thing each time, the things that I can keep up with.

I’m talking about someone who can follow my instructions and reach the high areas that have not been touched in a long time. The top of shelves in the kitchen, that I can not reach without getting on a step stool, which is dangerous for me with my illnesses.

I have had a house keeper. She did the normal chores, but would not do the extra work I wanted done, even with an offer of extra money. She did not want to get on the step stool either.

Being chronically ill really drags me down and my housework suffers. Having someone help me reach the areas that have gone untouched for way too long would be wonderful. As I am sure it would be great for all of us that are chronically ill.

I will reach that area of the kitchen one day, those shelves will get cleaned and I will rejoice, probably with a nap. Until then, I just try not to think about it, knowing my limitations, I will have to have someone here when I do tackle that chore. Apprentice or husband, someone will be here.

~Peace

Author: Tina

This site is about invisible illnesses and the hidden suffering that they wreak on those who are burdened by them. I suffer greatly, but find writing and sharing ideas important. I use aromatherapy to relax and I enjoy crocheting, beading, painting and research. Being a country gal makes it tough to follow a diabetic diet during the winter months. During the summer, vegetables are plentiful, but during the winter they are scarce. I need advice and help on meal planning. I have a second blog, www.tinabrownsartblog.wordpress.com where I display my paintings. Not very good, but I sure enjoy painting them.

7 thoughts on “Apprentice – Daily Prompt”

  1. I have so many of those chores. I need to go through my clothes, they are currently in a folded heap in my closet. Nothing fits, if I need something, husband needs to dig it out. But there just isn’t time. We had a wonderful housekeeper, but he was starting to slow down at 67, and we didn’t have the money, this was before my husband’s new job.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My housekeeper would only do the main things, like clean sinks, toilets, sweep, vacuum, mop. Nothing extra even with the offer of extra pay. She wasn’t very good at what she did, but I got along with her, so I kept her for quite a while before I realized she was talking more than working and not getting everything done. I made my husband let her go. 😮

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My housekeeper is still a good friend. He would do anything, we’d give him tons more than was the going rate. He was and is just a sweetheart. We would chat for ages, but he’d stay and clean. He was having some health problems, typical aging stuff, which made things difficult, but we had to buy a car, because ours was from 1989, and we couldn’t do both. 😐 plus we had this idea that the kids should do chores. We’re hilarious.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Thought

Sacred Journey Devotionals - Where Christianity and Metaphysics Meet

"Sacred Journey Devotionals are words filled with love, truth, patience, peace and internal exploration. Don't be afraid to follow your heart, for it is there that you will find the truth you have been searching for all this time. God loves you and wants the very best for you. More than anything, God wants to have an active and intimate relationship with you." ~ Rev. Marcia F. Davis

Reflect His Word

Transform your life

To Live is Christ

Learning to live by the indwelling life of Christ.

Coffee With The Lord

The Best Way To Start the Day- Coffee With The Lord

The Heart of a Pastor

"My heart overflows with a pleasing theme; I address my verses to the king; my tongue is like the pen of a ready scribe." (Psalm 45:1)

Getting Well God's Way

New Insights for a New Age

Patty Radish

Sharing My Creative Life

Trying to Craft

my diary of handmade crafts and other stuff.

Art-full Journey

Art Journaling, Painting, Enameling, and More

Let's Art Journal

Expressing life through endless creativity in words and pictures

My So Called Crafty Life

The life and times of a craft addict

Invisible Illnesses

Awareness, Education, Research & Quips

Thoughts in Print

words and abstractions of little consequence